Dry Spice Mixes 1: Italian Spice Blend (Vegan)

IMG_0068I love efficiency in the kitchen. I don’t like to fuss and fiddle with jars and jars and bags and bags of spices when I have 4 pots and pans going on the stove. Which I often do on weekly cooking days. So I put together mixes in jars so I can just grab a pinch or two of what I need no fuss and less mess.

This mix below I use when I make soups, sauces, salad dressings,  when I microwave or steam veggies ( a little spice, olive oil and balsamic yum!!). And it is great on tofu, chicken, fish, beef, pork, turkey,  etc.

Italian Spice Blend

What you will need for one jar:

  • measuring spoons
  • a bowl for stirring
  • a small spice jar or storage container

all spices below are dried:

  • 3-4 heaping tsp basil and parsley preferably leaves
  • 2 tsp marjoram  ( I have ground)
  • 2 tsp thyme leaves
  • 1/2 teaspoon sage ( ground – )
  • 1/2 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon hot paprika and 1/2 teaspoon sweet paprika  (not that grocery store mystery paprika – if it isn’t labelled either sweet or hot and it isn’t from Hungary it’s not worth buying)

(Buy spices in bags or bulk-  not jars – to save money. You can get glass jars for a dollar or two at the dollar store.)

So I go about this by spooning a half teaspoon at a time, layer by layer of spices,  to make sure it fits in my special labelled spice jar (paper and scotch tape.  Then I pour the spices into a bowl and stir thoroughly.  And then funnel them back into my jar.

Because I tend to use fresh garlic and onion regularly  I don’t add onion or garlic powder but  you are completely welcome to – I would suggest a teaspoon or two of each. you can also add some salt and pepper to the mix if you would rather not add them during the cooking process.

If you prefer oregano or have it at home then use it instead of marjoram or use 1 tsp of each –  I suggest if you use oregano to use less sage.  But the key is to use what you like – the mix and each spice should smell good to you – if a spice doesn’t smell goo to you you probably won’t like the taste of it.

One thought on “Dry Spice Mixes 1: Italian Spice Blend (Vegan)

  1. Pingback: Weekly Cooking Day and Blog Recipe Preview! | baroquegoddess

Leave a Reply

